Monday, June 20, 2016

Unbreak My Heart (The Rough Riders Legacy #1): By Lorelei James

Rough Riders Legacy Book 1

The right love is worth the wait.
Seven years have passed since I fell for Boone West. The brooding bad boy. We were friends, even when I secretly wanted more, but I settled for what he offered. After he left Wyoming—and me—I grew up. Moved on. Or so I believed until he blew back into my life with the scorching force of an Arizona desert wind.
I’m not that innocent sixteen-year-old girl anymore—I’m a businesswoman who swore never to settle again. But this older, wiser, hotter version of Boone unsettles me. How am I supposed to resist his megawatt smile and his built-army-strong body? Especially when he’s inserting himself into every aspect of my life? Now he’s determined to prove he can offer me everything that he couldn’t before—and he’s the only man that can fix the heart that he broke.
Joining the army? Best decision I ever made. Even though it meant I had to leave her behind. Sierra McKay. The wide-eyed beauty, who saw more in me than I saw in myself. I didn’t dare offer her anything more than friendship, because one kiss, one touch and I wouldn’t have had the guts to go.
I’ve worked hard to become the man I am. I have a career. A purpose. After a chance encounter with the one woman I never forgot—I’m not leaving anything else to chance. Now that I’ve chased her across three states, I’m ready to demonstrate that the passion we couldn’t act on before burns hotter than ever between us. And I’ll use every weapon in my arsenal to show Sierra McKay that she’s always been mine.

Purchase Links:

Google Play -

iBooks -

Coming soon to Nook!


"Unbreak My Heart" is the first book in a new Young Adult series called, "The Rough Riders Legacy" by Lorelei James. 

I loved the story and it is a great start to a new series!! It is the next generation of Mc Kays. I really  loved seeing Kyler, Anton, Hayden, and even AJ’s nephew Mase as college-aged men. They were still kids in the original Rough Riders series. The way they are all friends, how they look out for one another and spend a lot of time together, is great to see how close they are. 

I have been a fan of Ms. James' books since I started reading the Rough Rider series over three years ago. I have read every book in that series and loved each one of them. 

The characters Boone West and Sierra McKay were introduced in the 12th book in the Rough Riders series called, "Gone Country". That is one of my favorite books in the series. Boone and Sierra were just secondary characters in the story, but I am very happy that they've had their own story written.

In "Gone Country" they were best friends that had an attraction to each other but never acted on their feelings and then Boone left to go into the Army.

Now seven years later, Boone and Sierra have grown up. They have matured and each have successful lives, but they've never forgotten each other or the attraction and feelings they've shared.

Boone is an Army nurse and helps treat Sierra at the medical clinic in Wyoming because she is sick. He tells her that he has to talk to her. She isn't ready to talk to him and leaves to go back home to Arizona when she is better. 

After talking to Gavin, Sierra's father, Boone goes after Sierra to talk to her. He wants Sierra to give him a chance and show her what they can have together. 

While reading the story you can now understand more the reasoning why Boone left and his background. They each have issues in their past to deal with, but they find it is easier to get through together.

I would definitely recommend reading this story. There is a wide spectrum of emotions throughout this story and it is written beautifully! I am very much looking forward to reading the next stories in this series with the other McKay cousins!!

Meet The Author:

Lorelei James is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of romances in the Rough Riders series, the Blacktop Cowboys® series, the Mastered series, the Need You series and the Legacy series.
Lorelei also writes dark, gritty mysteries under the name Lori Armstrong. Her books in the Julie Collins and Mercy Gunderson series have won Shamus Awards and the Willa Cather Literary Award. Lorelei lives in western South Dakota.






No comments:

Post a Comment